In some countries, people waste a lot of food that they have bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food in that way? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

While famine is a dangerous issue some countries face and struggle with due to poverty, food waste, on the other hand, is a problem that is faced in some other countries, particularly the rich ones. This essay will discuss in the following paragraphs why people misuse large amounts of aliments and what can be done to reduce the number of meals thrown away. One of the reasons behind aliment misuse is buying and cooking big amounts at each meal. Families composed of multiple members often buy larger batches of groceries, and then cook unreasonable quantities that end up being thrown away. Moreover, supermarkets in developed societies, such as the USA, often produce family-size packages and then sell them at a lower price, contributing to misuse as well. Furthermore, some restaurants serve big serving sizes of meals that are, most likely, not going to be eaten, and therefore end up thrown away. All these causes not only increase the rate of aliments thrown away but also rise up the rate of obesity and health problems. To illustrate that, multiple studies proved that the communities with the highest rates of waste also have the highest ones in health problems. So what measures can be taken to lower the amount of food thrown away? First of all, alimentation industries must take the first action by producing reasonable serving sizes for the population. This change will decrease overeating and the number of leftovers ending up in the trash. Secondly, commercials and publicity should contribute to educating citizens on the danger this problem has and how it would affect the countries that suffer from famine. Finally, recycling might also have a positive impact by utilizing reusable domestic trash. Numerous regions in Europe, for instance, Sweden and Norway, are good examples to follow as they have the lowest rates of food waste. To summarize, it is crucial to motivate the population to lower their production of discharge, and I personally think that if we all act in synchronisation, the world would suffer less from famine, making it a more balanced place to live.