Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Regarding the materials which should be taught in universities, always been a disagreement between people; some people believe that university syllabi only should consist of practical and helpful materials which could be beneficial for pupils’ future careers, yet others think that pupils ought to be free to study whatever they want. In the following, I am going to discuss both points of view and present my verdict on them. To begin with, limited tutorial curricula help students to learn the most useful stuff; this approach could be beneficial for educators from two dimensions; it would reduce the duration of an educational course and aid graduates to enter a specified occupation sooner. However, restricted tutorial syllabi would diminish the graduates’ creativity in their future works now that for example, all graduates from a certain field only know the essential materials and would work in a similar way without any creativity and innovation because the permission to access to disparate contents is not given to them during their course of study. On the other hand, students studying and learning for their own sake could be disadvantageous in that it would prolong the study duration. Notwithstanding, not restricting students to learning something predetermined and restricted would help educators to flourish their talents and abilities. As far as I know, many famous scientists such as Thomas Edison had dropped out of school and did not accept by universities as their thoughts were something beyond the normal education framework of tutorial institutes. Therefore, in my opinion, despite of above-mentioned merits and drawbacks of both notions, university educators ought to be free in the field of learning and researching now that the more knowledge and information a pupil acquires, the broader perspective in every science field he/she would have. To sum up, concerning the limitation of university curricula and their merits and demerits, both perspectives were discussed, and I agreed with the open access of data to students because this operation will pave the way for flourishing their hidden talents.