Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

These days, we can observe that students are engaged with a long curriculum schedule from primary school to university graduation. Some people think that it is a common practice amongst many students to keep on learning from the books and classroom throughout the curriculum rather than trying on hand experience what they learn. I agree with this view and in this essay, I am going to discuss my view on this matter. To begin with, there are many different subjects to be taught in schools and colleges which are usually long, busy and time-consuming. Thus, students do not get enough time to learn some physical skills. For instance, in engineering,collages there are many laboratories for the student to perform some practical tasks which they learn in theory classes, however, the majority of students do not show interest to carry out practicals because of the packed study timetable of the theory classes. Secondly, many students think that formal education will be more useful for them therefore, they invest the majority of their time in classroom studies. They think that what they grasp from the books and what is taught to us in class will be adequate. For instance, as per a recent survey of 100 students from different universities which were based on the student's view toward practical study and book-based study and the result was astounding, around 60-65% of a student gave their preference to classroom study over the field experience or learning practical skills. In conclusion, although it is vital for a student to learn practical skills, due to the current busy educational syllabus and individual interest to learn practical skills, the majority of students prefer to learn factual information in schools and colleges.