Computers today can quickly and accurately translate languages; therefore, it is a waste of time to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technology is so advanced that we are able to translate any language. It is believed by some people that learning a new language is no longer required unlike before. Personally, I completely disagree with the statement as it is essential to know a language to understand the local culture and also to communicate with emotions. The most prominent reason for believing that communicating in person by learning a non-native dialect is better than depending on computers for translation is due to the fact that conservation would only be effective if it is spoken naturally with emotions. Indeed, for conservation to be interactive, it requires to be expressed not only with words, but also with emotions. In this case, the translated conversation will add little to make it entertaining, and also lacks a personal touch. Having had translated communication, people would not be able to develop personal relationships in the long run. The more we rely on technology for communication, the weaker would be our social relationships. Another significant factor in learning an overseas language is the fact that a foreign country's culture can not be learned without knowing their tongue. There are cultural diversities between nations, even though we live in a global village because of advanced technology. So it is crucial to learn the culture and tradition of a new place, in order to settle there which can be done only by learning their native dialect. If technology is used in such a scenario, it is of no value. In conclusion, in my opinion, people need to continue learning new languages, although computers can assist in translating mainly for developing personal bonding, and for adapting to new cultures.