Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child's development while others think that it is important for children to go to school. Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There have been increasing debates on the consequences of home-schooling a child or sending them to a regular school. However, both have their own advantages. Teaching a child at home helps in focused learning in comparison to a regular school where there is only one teacher available to address the needs of entire class. In addition to this, a child can also be given more exposure to real life scenarios such as engaging them in different activities i.e. gardening, cooking etc to make them help put use theory into practice. A child is also protected from incidents like bullying which is very common in schools and can lead to impaired development in the longer run. One last advantage is less competition hence less stress on a child while studying since he will not be constantly comparing him/her self to other students. On the other hand, a specialized faculty in regular school means experienced individuals who are well equipped to deal with children from different walks of life. Moreover, the school facilities offered are unparralel to those that could be provided at home such as a sports ground, swimming pool and computer labs. Lastly, while studying with other students, a child would want to stay competitive in comparison to other students to achieve a sense of accomplishment. In my opinion, it is important for a child to go to school in order to experience a normal routine which is most crucial for a child's development. An incident in my family reinforced my belief since my nephew was home schooled and it turned out to be a very bitter experience for him and even led to him having anger issues since he thought he was being spoilt from all the attention.