The tourism industry has grown enormously over the last fifty years, and there are few places which are unaffected by it. However, tourism rarely benefits the countries which tourists visit. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The Popularity of travelling to other countries has steadily increased over the past fifty years, because people today have a lot more information about varying destinations around the world and almost every place in the world is reachable via a couple of flights. At the same time, criticism about the effects of tourism to destination countries has become louder and louder. However, I believe thepotential advantages of tourism to destination countries exceed disadvantages, and tourism brings way more to a destination than it takes from it. The main reason for my view is that local businesses and economy receive many advantages from tourism. For instance, tourists bring additional income to local shops and restaurants, which would not happen if tourism did not exist. This produces not only more workplaces for residents but new business opportunities as well. Consequently, governments are able to generate more tax income from local businesses and increase their income part of the budget sheet. This will lead to opportunities to maintain and improve local infrastructure and provide better services for citizens. Moreover, governments and varying countries can improve their global image by tourism, and with a positive image particular country is able to attract different global businesses and events to that area. Sometimes it is said that snowball grows as it rotates, and in business this is especially true. However, while businesses and local economy will flourish with a tourist income, there are still couple of environmental disadvantages to destination countries. Tourism brings pollution and waste, and this could possibly have severe implications to local ecosystem and environment. For example, pollution generated from tourism can produce health issues to local residents or affect to survival of local ecosystem and its species. To conclude, I believe that tourism have lot more positive effects than negative ones to particular country, and although there are some clear environmental disadvantages of tourism, those can be solved by waste collection systems, restrictions, and better designed commuting systems.