Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern era, cigarettes and tobacco became more and more popular addictive products. Undoubtedly, smoking poses a threat to the health of the one who smokes as well as other surrounding people. In my perception, I strongly agree with the given idea that the government should prohibit smoking in public areas. To begin with, as I mentioned above, secondhand smoke isn't singularly linked to the participants, unlike other self-indulged behaviours, such as compulsive eating fast food or drinking alcohol, it could bring negative effects on a person's health. For example, my aunt has suffered from breathing problems and needs to take medicine from time to time because my uncle has been smoking almost every day since they got married. In addition, if there is a pregnant woman sitting close to a smoker in a restaurant, the baby will probably be affected by the exposure to smoke. Secondly, cigarette butts account for millions of pieces of litter annually and detract from a location's aesthetic. For instance, if smokers couldn't find a trash can nearby, they tend to dispose of their waste on the road. Therefore, a smoke ban could reduce garbage to some extent. Last but not least, I believe there are some smokers who have been trying so hard to quit smoking but fail to do it in the end. Thus, if the government implements this kind of rule, it can definitely help people give up smoking. As an illustration, since they have to find certain areas to smoke, some people may be too lazy to look for places to smoke and correspondingly their smoking frequency would be decreased. In conclusion, banning smoking in crowded regions has benefits not only for other human beings but also for the environment we lived in. So I totally agree to ban smoking in public. However, I do support a person's right to smoke in a private setting where the impact on other people is controlled and negligible.