Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are crippled by gridlocked traffic. What are the possible solutions for these cities?

Growing number of traffic jams become a major problem in cities all over the word, due to the rising number of car owners. Although it is a complex problem that affects everyone's life, there are solutions that would improve the quality of big city life. First of all, improvement in organization of public transport may decrease the amount of vehicles on the roads. As far as there are not enough buses or tram lines people would chose to drive for their own that would block the most important spots during rush hours. For instance, rebuilding the underground in Warsaw decreased the traffic and improved the everyday's life of many citizens. Additionally, the prices of the tickets should encourage to chose public transport over the car. Secondly, authorities of the cities should develop cycle paths that would convince many to move around on a bike. Although ridding on the bike in crowded places may be considered as dangerous and risky, people would not be afraid to bike in wide and safe paths separated just for bicycles. For instance, in countries of Benelux where the cycle paths are more developed than in any other parts of Europe, the majority of people bikes to the work or school because it is the quickest, cheapest and the most convenient way. To conclude, current situation in the cities forces us to reevaluate opportunities to improve city driving. To decrease number of the cars in town public transport should be reorganized and citizens should be encourage to use their bikes.