Television dominates the free-time of too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socializing with others. Do you agree or disagree?

Over the years, television has become an essential item in modern-day homes. That is said, a certain segment of individuals argue that TV set is becoming a threat to humans as they believe it creates lazy individuals and isolated habitats. Though some people stand against this affirmation, I stand with the people who support this affirmation. The following paragraphs will analyze two factors which contribute to the ideology as well as my opinion. To begin with, lengthy programs which telecast over electromagnetic channels develop laziness in the human mind. When we compare the programmes which are currently on air, most of them keep running for three-four hours continuously preventing their audience to do anything rather than sitting in front of their television sets. What will happen if a person stays in one place for a broad period of time, will result in generating dull feelings in human mentality. There is a number of examples that we can pick from the research which have been done all over the world. Moreover, this will result to generate a number of health issues in the human body as well. So, it is clear TV makes individuals lazy. Secondly, Social isolation is becoming a problem in many countries as their station spectators grow in numbers making the relationship between these two phenomena. For instance, a recent report submits by World Health Organization states, that almost 60% of people now suffer from social distancing and the main cause is higher addiction to TV sets. In addition, now the Sri Lankan community suffers not only less happening of intercommunication between communities but also lesser communication in intrafamily as well. To sum up my writing, I reiterate we must prevent what is happening around us and we must control the habit of watching television for extended hours which makes us dull and less socialising.