Although the prices of fuels have greatly increased over the last decade or two, it is argued that further increases in fuel prices are the only way to reduce world consumption of fuel and lessen pressure on the world’s fuel resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the modern era, the prices of non-renewable resources like oil, coal and gas are hiking day by day. Despite the price of this fuel being so high, the consumption still causes these resources to run out eventually. Even though it is believed by a group of people that the best way to tackle this issue is continuously rising the price, I completely disagree that the usage of fuel will be reduced by rising the price. On the one hand, there are sundry reasons to support rising prices to decrease usage. Firstly, most of the time society thinks about the present and does not consider the future enough, so the price ought to be high to affect people's everyday lives. As a result, folk will use more public transport rather than private cars for commuting from work to home and for other purposes. However, society's fossil fuel such as petrol for cars has an inelastic price, it would not have any impact other than increasing tax and company revenue. Secondly, it is very common to see that every adult in a family has a personal car. If the cost of fuel steps up, they might share cars with other family members. As a result, fossil fuel consumption will be decreased. On the other hand, a significant increase in expenditure would not only impact each individual but also the whole company. Fuel prices not only impact each individual but also the whole economy because it is not only linked to transport but also to food production, home eating and entertainment. As a consequence, the standard of living will be drastically affected and thus the poorer parts of society would become poorer. In conclusion, from the aforementioned discussion, while the rising expenditure is one of the most commonly discussed solutions to fuel usage problems, this has too many negative variables also. Hence, I think the increasing price could cause a small reduction in transport usage but the far-reaching effects would be unfair and unsustainable.