Some think that the Olympic games help bring people from different nations together. Others, however, think that hosting the Olympics wastes money which could be used for important issues. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

From ancient times, people considered organizing the Olympic games to demonstrate their national interdependence and improve international relationships. However, host governments could use an enormous amount of money that spends on the Olympic games to improve other aspects of life. As far as I am concerned, support of your own country and radical change in it is the most valuable goal, while the Olympic games also allow people to improve and understand relations with international people. Ambassadors of the Olympic games could argue that this is important to keep the peace in the world. Due to frequent interactions with visitors from foreign countries, people make friends with other nations and understand their cultures. Therefore, they won't see enemies in other nationalities and will prevent wars. Simultaneously, being a fan of a team releases a lot of aggression, which not only increases the chances to build better relationships with the other nations but also prevents further ambitions to show superiority over other countries. On the other hand, investing money in education and medicine could prevent wars and do some other important tasks in nations life, may argue another side. Mostly, countries with the largest educational and medicine budget are the most peaceful countries in the world, for example, UK or France. Moreover, investment in different social facilities could increase the level of life. This may incentivise other countries to bring nations together and develop to achieve collective goals in undeniably crucial areas, space and science, for instance. To conclude, although, the Olympic games surely solidify relationships between nations, money in their organisation could be used more efficiently than they are used now.