26. In many workplaces, online communication is now more common than face-to-face meetings. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there are arguments about whether or not digital meeting is used more often in companies than in-person meetings. In my opinion, I am of the opinion that the drawbacks of this trend overshadow the drawbacks for several reasons, which will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, virtual communication is speedy, which speed up the flow of information and enhance team collaboration. As a result, it reduces deterrents to productivity. In other words, communicate through the Internet not only enhance accessibility to at work, but also limit the misunderstanding as dialogues are recorded on interface. This is partly true, but digital communication is no longer optional after teleworking time. After the Covid-19 pandemic, people have come back to normal life, resulting in the reduction of time for cyber meeting as they have to go to companies, meet others face-to-face instead of interacting with them online. In contrast, talk through Internet can lead to distraction and danger for companies. Because communicating via the internet is multi-touched and make employees engaged, so it engenders huge distraction while working time. For instance, workers spend time on groups chat online rather than doing their work properly, and among countless others. Moreover, internal information of the company can be leaked online by hackers or scammers because of the risk of virtual platform. Thus, it will have bad influence on the corporation’s image. To conclude, although digital meeting helps access to information faster and increase group cooperation, it is risky for a business to communicate over the Internet regularly.