Some people believe that university students should pay all the cost of studies because university education only benefit the students themselves not the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that there should not be public universities as they suggest education does not improve society. I strongly disagree as public professionals have to study depending on the job. The following paragraphs will highlight my opinion and some relevant examples. First of all, it is essential for society to have public services, such as doctors and lawyers. However, not everyone can afford the cost of studies. For that reason, the government reward to have public professionals to improve society's health and rights. For example, many individuals in Brazil can not pay for private health, so most citizens use public health. In that way, society is benefited from the costs of public studies. If there were no public education, people would not have many public services as there would not have enough professionals. In addition, as there is a very small number of people who can afford their studies, without the help of the government, even in private companies the number of professionals would be scarce and the prices of appointments would be extremely expensive. In this case, for example, just a few people would be able to have treatments. As a result, society would suffer without assistance. To conclude, in my opinion, public studies are essential and society is benefited from this.