SOme people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. they say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it legal requirement. to what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Many people think that governments have to make it obligatory for the people to recycle their waste, because there are not enough amount of waste being recycled. However, I tend to disagree completely with their point of view of making it obligatory for several reasons. When the government makes the recycling of the homes' waste obligatory, many citizens will refuse to do it, because we live in a democratic society, and forcing the people to make certain actions will result in resistance of the people. As we live in the twenty first century, if the country want to make certain laws or rules it have to be done through giving the people the freedom of choice, especially if the item in not so crucial like waste recycling. The governments can increase the amount of homes' waste being recycled through several ways. Firstly, it could make incentives for people who recycle their houses' waste, by decreasing the taxes they pay, or the water and electricity bills. For instance, in Egypt the people who recycles their waste recieves reduction on the water and electricity bills. Secondly, awareness campaigns could be done, to show the people the importance of the waste being reused and recycled, and how it would be beneficial for the people on the long run. Finally, displaying the benefits for the environment if the waste have been recycled. In conclusion, I hold the notion that governments should not force the people for reusing their homes waste, but they should encourage people to do so through another ways and methods.