3. In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experienc

It is a hot phenomenon that the elderly usually go to the nursing home where carers will take care of them in the UK; at the same time, the government will provide financial support for this too. As far as I am concerned, both the government and the family should afford this care. The authorities are definitely responsible for the care of the old people. This is because they deserve to get a pension from the state when they are retired due to the contribution of tax they paid when they are young. It is well accepted that people pay tax for almost 40 years since the retirement age is 65 years old in most countries. Therefore, when elder people go to nursing homes, the government can pay for the care as a means of pension fee. In addition, it is the government's duty to fund nursing homes to maintain the necessary social stability. Otherwise, a great number of old people will be homeless, resulting in a miserable life in the end. Apart from the state, the family plays a pivotal role in looking after their old parents too. Undisputably, parents spend enormous money, time and energy on children and make sure they grow up safe and healthy. As a result, when parents are getting old, children should take the responsibility to support their old parents as well. Thus, it is reasonable for the family to pay for the care nursing for their parents. In addition, some old people will give their houses to their children after they pass away, which is a huge fortune. In that case, there is no financial reason for the family not to pay for the care of their parents in the nursing home. For example, the public usually takes care of their parents at their home in China. To sum up, both government and family should provide financial support for the elderly in the nursing home, since the old people have devoted their whole life to society and their families.