In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use their money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Government should impose additional taxes on the owners of private cars to fund the public infrastructure. Although this measure offers several benefits, the drawbacks should also be kept in consideration. This essay will discuss both merits and demerits of taxing private vehicles. On the one hand, Government can achieve several benefits by introducing heavy taxes. First this would decrease traffic delays by limiting volume of new vehicles on the roads as people will be encouraged to use public transportation. Secondly, this action will help in clean environment as less vehicles means less emission of CO2 which is major cause of air pollution. For example, the air quality of Lahore city is deteriorated upto an alarming situation because of uncontrollable increase of traffic. Example has a negative tone; whereas the explanation is positive. For example, Singapore’s air quality index is mostly high because the administration there have enforced taxes. On the other hand, imposing taxes will have some worst effects by implementing this measure people will be travelling mostly by public transport which takes a lot of their time as compared to owned vehicle.[contradictive point with the previous paragraph] Moreover, as motor industry is a multi-million huge investment globally, falling in sales will end in unemployment in this sector. The economy will also witness shock as this sector is an important pillar of any economy. In conclusion, the benefits of imposing massive taxation of private vehicles outnumbered the drawbacks of this solution.[opinion] The major concerns like interrupted traffic flow and air pollution might minimize by these taxes however, the time travel might increase along with decline in the employment which might affect the economy