Most large companies nowadays operate multi-nationally. To what extent multinational companies have responsibility towards local communities in which they operate.

Overseas corporations’ obligation towards the area where they are based has been a topic of concern in this day and age. Although some people agree that these businesses should bear responsibility for helping local communities, it ought to depend on the will of the firms. On the one hand, businesses can substantially benefit from being socially responsible. In fact, by actively protecting the habitats that ensure their sustainable long-term growth, foreign companies would have good track records of being environmentally friendly, which are directly tied to their brand names being favourable to local communities. For example, the Coca-Cola company has had many campaigns to improve climate; thus, they have received support from the locals and government. On the other hand, I hold the belief that foreign corporations are under no obligation to aid local people. As a matter of fact, the appearance of these multinational enterprises already enhances employment in the neighbourhood. For instance, when Samsung established new showrooms and retail stores in Hanoi, many job seekers were employed, which decreased the unemployment rate and improved the living standards of many local people. Furthermore, international companies must pay taxes, which contribute tremendously to the local areas as this amount of money will be spent on social benefits such as educational services and medical care. Therefore, it is unreasonable for those organizations to take any further obligation for providing support to local communities where they base their offices. In conclusion, although responsibilities towards local communities taken by international enterprises could be advantageous to some extent, I believe that it is not their obligation to help people living around.