Prison is the best punishment for criminals. How far do you agree or disagree with this statement. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

These days, every time you turn on the television or flick through the pages of a newspaper, you learn about the victims of crime. But what is the most effective method of dealing with the rising crime rate in our society? Some people believe the best way to punish criminals is to sentence them to time in prison. I completely disagree with this idea and in this essay I will support my opinion with examples. Firstly, life in jail is far too comfortable for prisoners. For example, many inmates have access to luxuries such as televisions, computers and sports facilities and so on. In other words, spending time behind bars is more like being in a holiday camp. If prison is oing to act as a deterrent, then I believe it needs to be considerably tougher. Another reason why I disagree with prison as a punishment is that a large number of prisoners are not actually a danger to society. Take shoplifters as an example. They are often locked up in the same cells as murderers, rapists and violent criminals. I strongly believe that this is a serious waste of taxpayers’ money. What is more, petty criminals may even learn how to commit more serious crimes when they are inside. On the other hand, there is an argument that prison can help to rehabilitate offenders. Many inmates have the opportunity to study while they are doing time. As a result, many never re-offend when they are released. In conclusion, although it is a common belief that prison is the best way to punish criminals, I believe it is too soft and that it is not necessary in the majority of cases. Personally, I think prison should be the last option when all else has failed.