In some countries, the government has tried to reduce traffic. For instance, they imposed a congestion tax during rush hour. Do you think this development is positive of negative?

Advanced technology makes it possible for people to own their private cars, leading to congested traffic in metropolitan cities, on which the government imposed a congestion tax during rush hour in order to solve this problem. I believe that this development is positive. It seemed that posing taxation on traffic bottlenecks during rush hours is negative. First, people would have more financial burden because of the added expense. This would decrease the quality of life, especially for some low-income families since they not only earn their living but also need to put extra money on taxes. Also, it would decrease the profit and work efficiency of some logistic companies, since they need to spend more money transporting some commodities to their customers in a certain hour. Without added taxes, they could deliver their products during rush times. However, more positive impacts result from this development. One reason is that the volume of vehicles during rush hour would have a significant decline since citizens would try to avoid using automobiles so as to save their money from taxation. For instance, city dwellers would choose to commute during off-peak times. Additional, imposing taxes on automobiles during peak hours would help to arouse people's environmental awareness. They would try to take public transportation to work instead of driving their automobile, therefore, they would become more eco-friendly and reduce their carbon footprint. Another reason is that the government levy on traffic jams during peak times would benefit environmental problems since it would limit the divers’ use frequency of motor vehicles, which emit toxic gases such as carbon dioxide into the air. As a result, air pollution would be alleviated. In conclusion, I believe that posing a tax on traffic overpopulation during rush hours is a positive development.