Scientists tell us that some activities are good for health and others are bad. Despite knowing that, millions of people still continue doing unhealthy activities. What are the causes and what are the solutions for this?

It is a fact that a large proportion of the population continues to engage in unhealthy activities, irrespective of expert advice, which is being increasingly witnessed. This essay will discuss the main cause of this phenomenon and also suggest methods to solve this problem. Examining the reasons, the most common is that people are prone to underestimate the cumulative adverse effects of an unhealthy lifestyle as it doesn't occur immediately. In addition, many unhealthy activities are addictive and people can't leave them easily, for example, smoking is a slow killer and it is mentioned everywhere but people continue to smoke. The solutions are not simple but they do exist. Firstly, Government should increase taxes on unhealthy products,especially on cigarettes so it should be hard for everyone to buy and consume them. Secondly, media channels should promote healthy lifestyles and criticise unhealthy activities. Furthermore, higher authorities can conduct different sports events which can encourage people to participate and keep themselves healthy and fit for these events. To conclude the topic, it can be finally commented that by self-motivation and with the help of the Government we can reduce the proportion of people who are addicted to unhealthy activities.