Nowadays people depend on technology for leisure activities. Is this a positive or negative development?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over the tendency of people to utilize technology for amusement activities in this day and age. This phenomenon has both pros and cons however I would contend that its drawbacks may outweigh its counterpart. Without a shadow of a doubt, with the advent of technology, people’s recreation life has become more diverse and convenient. For the time being, abundant choice of leisure pursuits can be provided through individuals’ technological devices like their smartphones or computers. For example, there is a wide range of methods to entertainment such as listening to music, watching movies or surfing the internet just through the advance latest phones which can help people to have more options for amusement without getting tedious. Therefore, technology plays a paramount crucial role in enriching people’s mental lives. While the redeeming features of technology in recreation are widely acknowledged, their detrimental influences can not be ignored. Using electronic devices for leisure activities for an extended time can have an adverse impact on people’s physical health. For instance, spending pastime sitting in front of a screen for 5 to 6 hours instead of doing some outdoor activities can cause eye problems or obesity which is one of the main reasons for the recent rise in the rate of these diseases. Hence, technological development in individuals’ amusement time may wreak havoc on their health conditions significantly. In conclusion, although the rising reliance on technological devices for entertainment may have both upsides and downsides, in my opinion, its merits can not overshadow its demerits for the aforementioned reasons.