Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazines and on billboards. These adverts can encourage people to buy goods that they do not really need. What are the positive and negative effects of consumerism?

In this day and age, a number of corporations frequently invest millions in advertising on social media. Although customers do not need these products, they may change their minds after watching these adverts. This essay will explore both the beneficial and adverse impacts of consumerism. On the one hand, some people reckon that an impressive advert which is produced by companies may increase the willingness of buyers. That is to say, the multinational organizations will collaborate with celebrities, and their endorsement may attract their fans to purchase. For instance, Nike, a well-known sports enterprise, invited a well-known NBA player Kyrie Irving to endorse their basketball shoes and then shared the news on Instagram. Although not all of his fans play basketball in person, 70% of them still felt compelled to buy it. On the other hand, different individuals maintain that advertising may have a negative influence on the environment. In other words, adverts are the faster approach to trigger impulse buying, however, a wide range of customers feel dissatisfied about purchasing commodities which may become garbage, and harm the earth. China News reported that 75% of women who bought cosmetics due to advertising, regretted their purchase. Furthermore, chemical materials and plastic packaging may be harmful to our earth. In conclusion, businesses will always try their best to sell as many of their products as possible, this is the purpose of advertising, to accomplish this goal, has its own merits and drawbacks. It is in our own interests to be wise and buy the useful things that we really need.