young people know about international pop and movie stars but know less about famous historical people. what are the reasons of this trend and what can be done to solve this problem?

Young people today are more aware of the latest fashion and often see movie and pop stars as their role models. Adulation of the social media influencers is also common these days as smartphones and internet are easily accessible to the teenagers. In this race of being more fashionable, children seem to care a lot less about the historical personalities and the sacrifices they made. Firstly, the life in the twentieth century is way more comfortable than it used to be before, so retrospecting on the challenges faced and overcome by our ancestors is not something of a leisure activity for the teens. Instead, they look forward to the future and try to be up-to-date with the latest phenomina. Secondly, most of the young folks do not seem have the right knowledge of history as it is deemed as one of the most uninteresting subjects at school. If the students are not able to relate with the events of a certain era, then they are unlikely to find the ideals from that time. Finally, a fair share of credit also goes to movies, songs, and advertisements, which tend to present the celebrities as the epitome of style. For instance, it is very common for the teenagers to copy the hairstyle worn by a popstar in a certain music video. Peer pressure and the fear of laggining behind make them more curious to learn about the stars of current times. Although, there is nothing wrong in following your favourite hip-hop stars and influencers on social media, but it is also important to have some information about the historical figures. Government can play an important role here to encourage people to celebrate the historical events, which will make their children more aware about the people involved in them. Another way can be to encourage the young folks to read the biographies of the important people where they can learn about the influence they had on the society.