In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

At the present time, teenagers are motivated to work or have a trip for a year between graduating from high school and going to a university in several countries. Some benefits and drawbacks are explained and illustrated with examples in this essay. To begin with, a convincing argument can be made that youth may acquire essential experience, which may help them to decide in what field they desire to study or work. For instance, allenvisionnic.com claim that almost nine out of ten of workers regret their rushing career choice. Moreover, by travelling over the world, students can become open-minded since they will explore new places and other cultural diversity. On the other hand, there are numerous disadvantages to this idea. Most important, working may discourage getting higher education. It is due to the fact that students might be tempted by the income that they earn. Furthermore, the other drawback that cannot be overlooked is that young people will be left behind by their peers. The evidence suggests that their peers will have a job, while students, who get a gap year, will study at the university, feeling inferior. Hence, although the idea of having a gap year is filled with some benefits, they cannot avoid drawbacks as well.