As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. Do you agree or disagree?

Most adults begin working in their early twenties and continue till their late sixties so work encompasses a crucial part of their adult life. In this essay, I will present views on how job satisfaction is important for our mental health and conclude by opining on the same. Firstly, there is absolutely no doubt that jobs are a major part of our life. Because of them, we are able to afford every other luxury or amenity available to us, live our lives comfortably and pursue any other goals or hobbies that we have. However, it is equally important that alongside sustaining our comfort, our jobs also make us feel fulfilled and happy. If an individual loathes what he does for work, in the long run, the money he makes is rendered useless because it will not make him happy and it will eventually wear him out. Secondly, there has been an apparent shift in the trends of working culture in the last two decades. Studies show that low job satisfaction is directly linked to emotional burnout, depression and low self esteem in employees. Therefore, companies are now focusing much more on employee mental health and overall satisfaction than they did previously. The workplaces have also shifted from being plain and boring to lively and fun to keep employees engaged, and if this is still not enough, there are many new and unique opportunities for people to pursue. These days more people are focusing on contentment from their work, which is why many people are quitting their well-paying jobs and moving to more unconventional professions that incorporate their hobbies, like food, travel and art. For instance, social media has presented a unique opportunity for people to earn money by sharing what they enjoy doing best. In conclusion, I opine that high job satisfaction contributes significantly to an individual's wellbeing.