The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In this contemporary era, many developing nations follow the trend set by western countries which involves spending a colossal sum on entertainment facilities like arts, music, and theatre. However, there are some individuals who argue that these funds should rather be spent on enhancing the quality of public services like medical aid, infrastructure, and generating employment. In my opinion, I strongly think that putting public interest before amusement facilities is vital, as many underdeveloped societies need them urgently. Out of a plethora of reasons in favour of investment in community services, the most preponderant one is that the development of infrastructures like hospitals, clinics, public transportation, and roadways, not only helps the indigenous residents of the country but also improves a country's economic status in the global market. Therefore, spending money on such public projects is increasingly vital when compared to funding art galleries and film industries. For instance, a survey showed how the Indian government has billions to spend on leisure and entertainment industries, but not on developing medicines, vaccination, food, and shelter, hence leading to poor GDP. Moreover, the development of public facilities is much more significant than the leisure industry, as an immense percentage of the population is dying every year because of the lack of these conveniences. Besides, when public developmental projects are launched, they often generate many employment opportunities which further take the financial stress away from the local government. As a result, all the nationals work together towards a collective goal of developing the national economy, along which they develop their financial status too. Thus, projects which bring such productivity are often looked into by governing administrations in developed countries, which is a foremost reason for their success. On the other hand, spending on entertainment is considered a liability not an asset in such developing economies, as important public issues are overlooked and not addressed. For example, the Sri Lankan economy collapsed recently as the government wasted money on trivial insignificant issues. To sum up, having put forth all the substantial arguments, I can conclude that governments should think judiciously about the economic condition of their nation before making investment plans in the budget. Furthermore, it is the right of the citizens to enjoy innovative medical and infrastructure facilities before art and theater.