Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazines and on billboards. These adverts can encourage people to buy goods that they do not really need. What are the positive and negative effects of consumerism?

Every year, companies have to pay a significant amount of money for online advertising, in magazines, and on billboards. Due to its attractiveness, consumers often spend their money on products that they do not really need to fulfill their curiosity. This habit can bring both positive and negative influences for consumers. Firstly, advertising is a useful way to approach consumers regardless of location or time. Many good products can be brought to people all over the world with attractive adverts. An average advert can be a short 30-second video or an hour-long music video, but it contains all the necessary information about its function, beautiful look, and meaningful story, thereby giving people the desire to buy the product. For instance, health goods such as vitamin supplements, fiber supplements, and healthy juice can reach anyone who needs them, but they may not be able to choose the best product for their needs. This lays the foundation for a decreased rate of vitamin and fiber deficiency, thereby fostering the well-being of the whole population. On the other hand, advertising companies know how to use the customer's psychology to make their advertising videos look attractive, confusing them about which products they need, and consumers often end up buying all those things. This can be attributed to the overconsumption level of customers, which could lead to people being penniless. To conclude, it is undeniable that companies have to do a good job of making their advertising videos attractive to catch more people's eyes. This can lead to an increasing number of customers reaching those useful goods, but it is also the main culprit for putting people into penniless situations.