Tourists damage many historical places, making them harder to preserve. What are some of the reasons for this? Suggest some ways to resolve this problem.

IT HAS BEEN WIDELY ACCEPTED THAT THE PROBLEM OF TOURIST-DAMAGED HISTORICAL PLACES IS ESCALATING AT AN ALARMING RATE. MOREOVER, IT IS GETTING HARDER AND HARDER TO PROTECT THEM. THERE ARE A NUMBER OF REASONS FOR THE SAME, AND THEIR POSSIBLE SOLUTIONS CAN BE SUGGESTED TOO, OF WHICH TWO OF THEM ARE DISCUSSED AS FOLLOWS. IN REGARD TO THE PROBLEM, THE MAJOR REASON FOR WHICH CAN BE STATED IS THE LACK OF KNOWLEDGE OF BEING A DECENT TOURIST. FOR EXAMPLE, IF PEOPLE HAD BEEN EDUCATED AT THE SUMELA MONASTERY'S ENTRANCE, THE WALLS WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN DAMAGED BY VISITORS. ANOTHER POTENTIAL CAUSE MAY BE THAT GOVERNMENTS MAY NOT SPEND ON ARCHAEOLOGICAL REMAINS AS REQUIRED. FOR INSTANCE, IF THE NUMBER OF SAFETY GUARDIANS OR PROTECTIVE EQUIPMENT HAD BEEN GREATER THAN IT IS NOW, PEOPLE WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO HARM THE DOOR OF THE HAGIA SOPHIA MOSQUE IN TURKEY. SEEING THE PROBLEM WITH A BRIGHTER MIND, MANY OF SOLUTIONS CAN BE HELPFUL TO CURB THIS THREAT. ONE SOLUTION IS TO IMPLEMENT A TRAINING PROGRAMME FOR VISITORS AT THE ENTRANCES OF PLACES, WHICH MAY REDUCE THE LIKELIHOOD OF HARMFUL BEHAVIOUR. SECONDLY, GOVERNMENTS CAN INVEST MORE MONEY IN EQUIPMENT OR PEOPLE TO PRESERVE ARTEFACTS. TO CONCLUDE, SOLVING A GLOBAL ISSUE IS NOT EASY, BUT WITH JOINT EFFORTS OF PEOPLE AND GOVERNMENTS, A CONTROL CAN BE TAKEN OVER THE PROBLEM. AS A SOLUTION TO ADDRESSED REASONS FOR THE PROBLEM, NOT ONLY DOES VISITORS SHOULD BE EDUCATED, BUT ALSO MORE MONEY SHOULD BE INVESTED IN THE PHYSICAL PROTECTION OF ARTEFACTS.