Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement??

There are clear arguments about governments’ financial support of artworks. Some people argue that this amount of money should be allocated to a more integral part of parts of a society like public services. However, I strongly disagree with this statement due to the following reasons. Primarily, art is a sign of cultural values in every society. In fact, it preserves cultural heritage and passes it to the next generations. For instance, if artefacts are taken into consideration, we can comprehend the messages that ancient artists wanted to convey. As a result, this sector should be supported financially to foster the next generations’ awareness of their history. Another significant point against this idea would be that the revenue which can be earned by the arts sector has been underestimated. In other words, this field can make a lot of opportunities to enhance tourism. Many tourists flock to many countries all over the world to visit artwork there. Hence, countries will take advantage of the profit earned by tourism, and this amount of money could be spent on public services. Take Paris as an example, this city is highly recommended as a tourist destination and people flock to this place to visit its museums and art galleries. The government budget almost half of its tourism revenue for the infrastructures of the city. Therefore, this does not only promote cultural heritage in this country but also strengthens other services To sum up, investment in art in society would improve both its cultural values and other parts of a community.