Nowadays, more and more older people who are looking for work have to compete with younger people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are some possible solutions?

Over the past few years, the labour market has become more competitive, and it is common that older people who are searching for jobs need to be competitors with younger people for the same type of work. This phenomenon could definitely lead to some issues, however, there are steps which can be taken to reduce the impact. To begin with, senior workers may find it difficult to secure their work due to the fact that the young generation is more likely to have up-to-date information, qualification and experiences. For example, E-commerce has seen spectacular growth nowadays, many companies face the challenge of changing their way of marketing. Using social media platforms such as Facebook or Instagram to advertise became the quickest and the most efficient way. Young people know how to use those platforms better than the elderly. In addition, as aged workers have difficulty in securing their employment, another problem arises. Contrary to youngsters, they are more probably to have a family to support. As a result, they might end up having inadequate income to raise a family, afford children's education and provide basic necessities. As for the solutions to the issues, it is the government and corporation's responsibility to take measures to deal with these problems. First of all, the government should ensure that old-age labourers have all the skills needed to compete in the job market. For instance, they can provide free training courses on the most important and latest job requirements at local community colleges. Secondly, the corporations have to rethink the roles of those senior employees who have endeavoured so many years in the company. Rather than thinking of them as out-of-date workers, the company should see them as the firm's assets, opening some advanced personnel positions. To illustrate, these seniors could serve as consultants or mentors in the company to share their experiences with newcomers. In conclusion, the main issue of the competition between the young and the old is that the latter tend to be jobless easily. Nevertheless, through the proper training sessions and changing viewpoints of corporations, the elderly can soon rival the younger generation.