Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Waste recycling and people’s participation in it is a moot issue, and a lot of arguments could be observed among people as well as in the media regarding this. I personally believe that policy makers should impose laws and punish vandals to achieve efficient waste utilization. First, it is obvious that the importance of waste recycling. Government should be responsible for this because not every citizen is able to discipline themselves on a moral level, even somebody still break the laws in order to get some benefits. Therefore, the government should enlarge the supervision level of law and build a strong sense of right and wrong in field of waste recycling. I also believe our offspring will appreciate this. Moreover, imposing legal requirements will make society more harmonious. For instance, I always sort the garbage daily, but some of my neighbours don’t do that. I feel uncomfortable seeing that because I hope waste can get effective recycling if the government can use a tool of laws to standardize standards. The efficiency of recycling will be significantly improved. This is not to say that we cannot rely on the ethic of citizens for waste recycling. Of course, that will be pretty good if everyone can handle the waste from home excellently. But the truth is often not what it seems. Improper disposal of waste is still a frequent occurrence daily. This is the significance of the legal requirement. In sum, I still thought we could not deal with this problem without legal constraints. Meanwhile, we should also strengthen people's awareness of waste recycling and environmental protection. I greatly believe our offspring will appreciate these measures.