The best way to make the road transport of goods safer is to ask drivers to take a driving test each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As traffic accidents on road transport of goods have dramatically increased, many suggest that testing drivers yearly is the best solution to ameliorate the safety aspects. While I agree this is a reasonable attempt, it is not the best, and other approaches should be considered. On the one hand, I deem that a driving test cannot improve traffic safety by itself. It may check the driver's capabilities in driving heavy vehicles, but it does not cover other required aspects of drivers transporting goods. For example, drivers ’ cognitive ability and physical health may be reduced after years of driving, and whereas they can ace the test, there may be some unexpected health conditions that arise when they drive for a long time. Those drivers may have background illnesses like heart disease, and a heart attack can suddenly happen. It will not only threaten their life but can lead to unwanted traffic collisions. On the other hand, there are alternative practical methods that can be applied to improve this notion. Firstly, it is vital to raise the requirements of driver standards in terms of physical health. Transport companies should employ working-age people with no background illness and good physical status. In addition, authorities should enforce stricter regulations and policies regarding traffic and individuals to alleviate the road rule violation of drivers. For instance, the punishment for driving trucks while the alcohol level is too high can be to deactivate the driving licence of the driver with a high fine so that they are less likely to offend again. In conclusion, with the aforementioned, it is evident that testing drivers every year is not the most effective solution for road safety. In my opinion, increasing the health requirements and regulating stricter rules are more practical approaches to solving this phenomenon.