Some people believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a complete waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your experience.

It has been debatable whether recreational activities for children should be entertaining or educational. I, however, believe that it is not necessary that leisure activities are always educational as children need to explore their creativity and develop skills other than education. This essay intends to delve into my opinion in detail. To commence with, spare time activities give a chance to students to explore their innate creative abilities. To explicate, many children are good at extra-curricular activities such as dance, outdoor games, art and many more. As a matter of fact, such hidden talents can be unravelled and even taken up as professions when they spend their free time exploring their skills. Satinder Sartaj, a renowned Punjabi singer, for instance, claims that it was only during his school days when he started writing songs in his free time and hence, developed an interest in singing and became so popular. Needless to say, spending time on non-educational things can be beneficial for students. Furthermore, for the all-around development of children, it is of utmost importance that they indulge in outdoor activities and hobbies rather than studying all the time. In other words, they tend to learn a lot through games such as basketball, football etcetera. To illustrate, kids not only learn teamwork, patience and perseverance when they play games but also become physically and mentally strong. Not only this, students also get a chance to refresh themselves. As a result, they can concentrate more on their studies. In conclusion, there is no speck of doubt that leisure time activities are meant for the holistic development of students, thus, they need not only be educational.