Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is believed by some people that the low petrol price is the primary reason to lead the issues of traffic and pollution and the best method to enhance petrol price. While the high price is crucial for the increased traffic congestion and air pollution, I do not agree with this notion and believe other factors like behaviour modification are vital to make individuals realize the severity of pollution. Behaviour modification plays a key role in persuading people to pay attention to environmental protection. when the thought process is augmented by an educational approach. People start refusing pollution with enthusiasm. For instance, the Chinese government promoted travel with low carbon dioxide during the last two decades. Nowadays, pollution of transit has reduced by approximately 20% domestic. On the other hand, indeed, the high price of petrol is an important factor to reduce cars’ use. Citizens will do that because of a higher financial burden. Nevertheless, this approach will pay off in a short period. However, this does not involve a change in conduct and thought process. For example in India, authorities increase the gas cost to reduce vehicle use, but as time goes by, the appearance of low-quality gasoline harms vehicles and the environment. Hence, this model is not sustainable and workable. This is not to say that authorities cannot control pollution by increasing the gasoline price. Government should combine the real situation in a specific area to formulate the policy. Policymakers cannot reduce the quality of living just in order to solve the environmental problem. Therefore, the most important thing is to increase people’s awareness of environmental protection. In conclusion, although the price will make an impact on transit and pollution problems, it will not be sustainable without attitude therapy and education approaches.