Some people believe that people today have no interest in maintaining the traditional culture of their country or region. Others believe that it is still important to people that we preserve a traditional way of life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is a general belief that nowadays there minority of people who take interest in preserving the traditional aspects of the nation they come from. On the contrary, others hold the view that the aforementioned opinion is not true and there are individuals who give value to their cultural background. I agree with the latter and try to elaborate on this opinion throughout this essay. With the fast pace speed of globalisation, various aspects of other cultures enter the others. This is inevitable as humans are gregarious individuals, trying to fit in particular groups for common interests. Therefore, often time they tend to forget their traditions and in other words prioritize what propaganda and populism state. For instance, despite that the Christmas is a Christian tradition, most Iranians celebrate and include it as part of their culture. Having said that, there are older populations who consider traditions and the culture of their country of origin as a prominent and vital matter and feel the oblige to not only maintain but transfer it to the next generation. Moreover, in most cases, this leads to obsession and even an unlogical need to advertise them so that they would be appealing to the younger generation. For example, while many adolescents do not participate in and hold the 'Ashura' festival-a day when 'Imam Hossein' died-, older ones attempt to preserve this by putting up flags all over towns and advertising it in their communities. In conclusion, although it is believed that in the contemporary world, preserving traditions has become a redundant issue, I strongly agree with the view that there are still many individuals who put their best effort into maintaining what they believe has been theirs throughout the history of their nation.