Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Specialists have advised and suggested to parents and the public to give their children opportunities to learn a foreign language at young age,especially in primary education. This is because they are able to absorb and learn the language faster compares to when they grow up. I perceive this as a positive encouragement and the results why the benefits outweigh the drawbacks will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, learning a foreign language means a great chance to experience something new. Apart from conversing and listening to their mother language, they are able to see and learn the differences and how beautiful the diversity is. For example, I once met a grade 2 student who speaks fluently in both languages, his native language, Thai, and a foreign language, English. He is very keen on learning and getting to know more about the world. Fortunately, since he is capable of English he can find information in English to expand his interest. Another advantage is that younger students are more confident in using the language since they get used to communicating in that language. The older you get the less confident you have to use the language. From my personal background, I encountered with adults who are scared and shy to make mistakes unlike youth who are free from those concerns. Thus, language learning is about the younger the better. Despite the advantages, some parents might fear or concern that their children might be confused in differentiate languages. They might mix up the language when using. For example my neighbour’s son uses both Thai and English in his sentences. In conclusion, the younger they learn the language the more they could absorb and understand it. This will also allow them to get access to a lot more knowledge and life opportunities. However, a language mix-up seems minor because it does not their lives negatively.