Smoking is a habit that claims many lives and is a great drain on health service. One way to combat smoking would be to make it illegal. What are the pros and cons of such a government policy? What alternative strategies can you suggest to combat smoking?

Smoking is associated with various fatal diseases and the majority of people are facing severe health issues due to its habit. It is often suggested to impose a ban on cigarettes and other smoking products which is definitely a good way to get rid of it.In the upcoming paragraphs, I will highlight my viewpoints about imposing a ban on smoking products. The excess promotion of cigarettes in television shows and movies results in more usage of it among the young generation which causes various health issues. People are victims of lung diseases and cancer due to the unlimited use of smoking products. Hence, making such products illegal will refrain people to use them as they will be under the pressure of being punished. In this way, the open usage of these harmful substances will be hindered. Moreover, television advertisements will be stopped if the government will implement the rules and will make smoking illegal. Hence, the young generation will not be misguided by the propaganda. Furthermore, the drug stores and shops will not sell cigarettes and due to non-availability, the young minds can be diverted towards sports and fitness. However, initially government can face difficulties to implement the law as businessmen in this field will try to sell smoking products illegally. But the continuous supervision of higher authorities can counter their plans. Besides making smoking illegal, the government can make other plans to mitigate this problem. This includes sensitising the young minds at school and college level by telling the harmful effects of smoking and how this habit can distract one from the original goal of life. Parents must supervise their children and try to protect them from the company of smokers. In conclusion, smoking is linked with severe diseases and its habit is becoming common among people which is a serious concern so its ban will bring relief to society.