Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time, and have health problems as a result. Why do many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

People with busy work schedules find it hard to incorporate regular physical activity into their daily routines. Consequently, many eventually face serious health issues. This essay will discuss the possible reasons why many working adults are not able to get enough exercise and the solutions to this problem. Many working adults, especially those with desk jobs, are unable to include exercise in their daily routine because of the tedious and time-consuming nature of their jobs. They work 40-50 hours each week, averaging almost 9 hours daily. Depending on how long it takes for them to commute to their workplace, their job takes up about 11 hours of their day, after which most people would just want to go home and unwind, run household errands or spend time with their family. Exercise ends up taking the backseat and, eventually it can cause health issues like obesity, high blood pressure and cardiovascular ailments. Many people end up suffering from bad posture and low body strength as well. As these health issues become increasingly common in young adults with a sedentary lifestyle, it's crucial that the importance of exercise be emphasized enough. To tackle this issue, many multinational corporations have set up gyms and yoga centres on the premises itself that employees can use free of cost. Many of these corporations also provide a rather considerable exercise budget for their employees that work from home, which can be used for additional sports activities or a home gym. Some companies even organise regular "walkathons" or 30-day challenges among their workforce to encourage each of them to walk 10000 steps daily. Such measures can definitely encourage working people to indulge in physical exercise and make a habit out of it, which they would not have found the time for otherwise. In conclusion, to address the lack of physical activity of their employees, workplaces have now taken appropriate measures to ensure that working individuals are able to include exercise in their routine. This will definitely help curb the growing number of health issues that we see in young and middle-aged adults.