Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the high sugar-content of industrially processed food and beverage items is one of the major causes for some fatal health issues, leading to an idea that it is necessary to discourage the consumption of sugar by increasing its price. While I agree that most processed food and drinks are harmful, I believe raising the expense of sugar is not an effective method to put into practice. On the one hand, it is certain that most manufactured food and drinks are one of the primary causes of diabetes and obesity. Researchers in the field of nutrition and psychology concluded that apart from other four types of flavors, sweetness contributes mostly to addiction. If a person is addicted to sweetness, which means they could binge a pack of soft drinks on a daily basis, resulting in a large surplus in carbohydrate content. Overtime, this surplus in sugar -content causes their metabolism to malfunction, leading to a metabolic disorder commonly called diabetes. One the other hand, sugar should not be raised in price, due to the fact that it is one of the primary sources of nutrition. Most people think that increasing the expense of sugar is effective to reduce the consumers’ desire to purchase, but this strategy can do harm to the financial situation of some average to low-income households. Since sugar, or carbohydrate, is an essential nutrition value, the pricing of sugar should be accessible for average consumers to provide them with adequate nutrition. As an alternative, the use of natural sweeteners such as honey should be promoted widely, so that consumers can feel the urge to switch from regular sugar to a healthier option. In summary, even though processed foods and beverages can be in fact harmful to a person’s well-being, adding price to regular sugar should not be advocated by any means.