Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choice on everyday matters such as food, cloths and entertainment is likely likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their wishes, other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and giv

e your opinion. In recent times, majority of individuals have different views on matters that has to do with a child ’s up bringing in the society, most people feel it is better to allow, children to choose, the type food, cloths and entertainment they desire. On the other hand, some other persons, is of the opinion that, it is better the parents helps them make such decision. Both parties have their reasons for the argument. In my own point of view, I think, parents should be involved in all aspects of their children life, especially when it has to do with decision making. This essay will elaborate more on both views. To begin with, one of the importance of allowing a child to make a decision is, that it helps to build self confidence and esteem. However, the child, feels loved and accepted by his/ her parents. More so, it helps to reduce the feeling of being controlled all the time, it also gives them the understanding that their opinion counts in the house. For instance in school, teachers helps to build this self confidence by allowing them verbalise what they would like to be in future, thereby creating a rapport between children and the teacher. On the contrary, there are severe complications associated with allowing children to choose the type of meal, fashion and especially entertainment, such as movies, music. Entertainment can positively and negatively influenced a child way of life, it is the role of parents to protect their children from this and direct them accordingly. For instance, there are several corrupt movies meant for adults and some of the music videos with naked people, allowing a child to gain access to such, can corrupt the child ’s mind while growing. He or she might not see it as a problem, and can start to imitate what they exhibiting. In conclusion, certainly, there are some merits of allowing a child make decisions during their development stage. It is on the other hand, of a great importance to guide them according to morals and norms guiding the society.