More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

Before as now, emigration from the countryside to the city continues apace worldwide as people seek a better standard of living. However, life in the big city is often hard on new immigrants. There are several reasons for this as well as solutions for governments to handle them. Most difficulties emerge since rural folk are unaccustomed to city life on moving there. For a start, the cost of living is much greater than in a town or village. City residents must pay more for utilities, housing, transportation and food, which causes many immigrants to share overcrowded housing in a bid to save money. Secondly, unemployment in the city is a major challenge for new arrivals. Many immigrants are unprepared for the fierce job competition when arriving in a city. This inevitably drives unemployment up, which may quickly lead to poverty. Finally, healthcare costs are often high in the city, and if made sick, many immigrants often lose meagre savings to pay for their medical care. To solve these challenges, and improve life for all inhabitants, city governments have several options available to them. Firstly, ensure an adequate housing supply to prevent overcrowding. Developing low-end, cost-effective housing for migrants would reduce living expenses and provide a base for first -time inhabitants to start a new life. Secondly, establish job schemes and professional training programs for new city residents. This would help them to find reliable work and figure out their next step. Finally, make affordable healthcare available to all. Guaranteeing access to affordable healthcare provides a social safety net for new city citizens as they adjust to city life. In conclusion, given the diverse challenges faced by city immigrants, ensuring decent accommodation and healthcare, as well as creating job programs, can help many hit the ground running and begin contributing to city life.