Increasing the price of the petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Some experts believe that the rising price of crude oil is the finest solution to deal with the problems such as burgeoning traffic congestion and contamination. I unequivocally agree with this opinion as high prices of petrol help in controlling these problems while availing public transportation also helps to address these concerns. One view is that shooting petrol prices leads to a decrease in the rate of influx and pollutants. This is because high prices tend to decrease the demand for it which directly puts impacts the traffic. Consequently, less number of vehicles on the road automatically declines the number of emissions which slumped the level of pollution. For example, the National Traffic and Pollution Control Board presented a report stating that problems like traffic, accident and environmental pollution were reduced to 30 per cent by doubling the crude oil rates such as diesel, petrol and many more. On the other hand, these problems can also be resolved by providing public transportation facilities that are railways, metro and local buses. This is because people will give preference to public conveyance rather than private vehicles if it is properly developed. Although there are many government and local buses, these all are not comfortable and are developed to travel local and long distances. When there are amenities in local vehicles, this helps to address these issues. For example, the Delhi government developed a metro which helps them to reduce deterioration levels to a large extent. In conclusion, even though the hike in the cost of petrol helps to reduce contamination, rapid transit also assists in handling both affairs.