In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

As markets become increasingly saturated while competition between participants is more intense than ever, successfully introducing novel features of branded merchandise to the public is of the essence. To this end, numerous sellers inevitably employ advertising practices focusing on people’s awareness of product distinctions, yet, such an approach could have either favourable or counterproductive outcomes depending on the inherent quality of goods. In this essay, I will investigate the reasons behind this common phenomenon and discuss both sides of the possible results. To begin with, the growing emphasis on marketing new traits is mainly attributable to the firms' motivations to stand out. As competitors can quickly imitate each other regarding technologies and designs, consumers have a plethora of homogenous alternatives available from which to choose. Hence, those advertised as having something unique possess a competitive advantage that attracts buyers’ immediate attention and consequently raises their purchase intent. Moreover, because curiosity is intrinsic to human nature, targeting the newness of customers essentially triggers their desire to learn more about the products, increasing brand recognition in return. For instance, Apple's launching events of next -generation smartphones invariably highlight state-of-the-art or highly improved technologies, captivating innumerable audiences every time. Nevertheless, despite having an array of incentives in pursuit of the above advertising strategy, its implication remains somewhat contentious. Unless proclaimed quality standards are fully honoured, excessive exploitation of such promotional content is equivalent to deliberate public deception that could undermine the well-being of society, causing wastage of resources spent and consumers’ distrust of the industry as a whole. In reality, many local governments enforce strict legal penalties precluding organizations from practising deceptive commercials leading shoppers to purchase counterfeit, defective, or even dangerous products. On the contrary, genuine advertisements contribute to a better life by informing end users of more beneficial offerings. For example, when done legitimately, adverts for advanced technological devices could greatly aid the citizens as they usually do not have sufficient expertise to enjoy a more convenient and delightful living experience. In conclusion, corporate inclination toward product differentiation and human inquisitiveness are the primary driving forces for firms' focus on promoting new angles. However, whether it is a positive or negative development rest upon the genuineness of the products delivered.