In many countries it is now illegal to advertise alcohol. Do you agree or disagree?

Although sales and consumption of alcoholic drinks are not prohibited in many countries, advertising it has been illegalized. This is due to many consequences which are followed by publicizing beverages containing alcohol. I, however, firmly agree that advertisement of alcohol must be banned and I will elaborate my reasons in this essay. Companies pay millions of dollars for advertisement of their products with the goal of increasing sales. If the alcohol producing companies are allowed to freely advertise their products, their sales of goods will grow by either more people purchasing or people purchasing more. Since alcohol is a highly addictive substance and is one of the main root causes of many chronical diseases, growth of its ingestion rate among individuals will lead to many health problems such as cancers, diabetes, cardiac attack and so on. For example, Russia has one of the most alcohol related cancer rates in comparison to other countries due to its alcohol consuming society. Therefore, I am in agreement with the illegalization of alcohol advertising in order to prevent the growth of alcohol consumption per capita and number of alcohol consumers. Moreover, advertisement has proven to be more influential on the juvenile. By permitting alcohol advertisements, underage ones are more likely to be attracted in consumption of alcoholic drinks due to their lack of sufficient awareness about the effects of alcohol on the body and the brain and consequences of breaking the law. Underage drinking, apart being against the law, can lead to both short-term and long-term problems such as alcohol addiction problems at adulthood, unstable personality, mental and physical disorders and so on. Therefore, since no type of advertisement can exclude any age group, if alcohol advertisement is not disallowed by law, can significantly tempt juveniles and promote underage drinking, which, not only can develop law-breaking attitude, but also will result in serious physical and mental damage in adolescents. To conclude, since alcohol is very addictive and is one of the main reasons of many health problems, it should be banned from being advertised in hope of prevention of growth of alcohol consumption rate and underage drinking promotion in the society.