In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is often being told to children that effort is key to achieving anything. In this essay both pros and cons of ingraining such mindset into younger generation will be thoroughly discussed. It is beneficial to promote diligence among children, because as a result the younger generation gains self-confidence, resulting into motivation to achieve goals. In other words, positive attitude and belief in oneself is essential for hard work and accomplishing goals. For instance, several conducted social surveys demonstrate that ambitious children tend to perform better academically and career wise, meanwhile youngsters without confidence tend to despair, not finish started earlier projects or quit everything due to lack of believing in themselves. Drawback of such a mindset can result into the child being overwhelmed by the pressure of consistently doing their best. Therefore, accumulated stress can result into the younger ones giving up too early and realizing that they cannot meet these established high expectations. For example, it is common from a psychological family analysis that abusive parents tend to ignore the real capabilities and physical boundaries of their children, set up unrealistic expectations in work ethics and pressure little ones to comply, resulting into significant psychological traumas and stress related issues in early childhood. To summarize, advocating idea of anything is achievable through enormous effort among younger generation can have both positive and negative effects consequently. Advantages of this view include gaining self-confidence and motivation, although disadvantages suggest that this fierce propaganda can result into significant stress and traumatic responses.