Most artists earn low salaries and should therefore receive funding from the government in order for them to continue with their work. What are the advantages and disadvantages

Nowadays, artists earn low salaries for their work therefore they should receive funding from the government in order to continue with their work. Making real art is a long and unique process and makes artwork so expensive. Creating a good piece of artwork like a statue or a unique painting can take weeks or even months. That makes it mostly unaffordable for the regular folk. The advantage of giving funds to artists is that the artwork is getting cheaper and more affordable. However, it also makes art more attractive for young people to study art and become an artist. Despite the advantages, giving funds to artists also has some disadvantages. The money for the funds is paid by taxpayers and not everybody likes art like someone else. Spending tax money for artwork that also could be used to build roads or to help homeless people is a kind of ethical decision. In conclusion, I would say funding artist is a good idea, but we should not forget the people on the streets who need help even more than artists. To think in an ethically way what does it help us when we live in a nice city while many other people have to sleep right next to the artwork that could have been a house for homeless people?