Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution prob- lems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Above all, pollution and, consequently, growing traffic are the most important problems happening nowadays in any city. We all have lived the consecuences of those problems through one way or another. For instance, we are seriusly facing climate change, which is made by mainly petrol. Another example is the traffic that we go through every day wasting a lot of time. There are many solutions to resolve this situation such as increasing increas the price of pretrol, promote the use of public trasport, prohibit the use of certain vehicles which have already been used enough, etc. In the next text we are going to assess whether increasing the price of petrol is a good idea to stop the growing of traffic and pollution or it is not the best. First, we must agree the fact that if the price of gas increase, less people is going to use private vehicles; therefore, if it heppens, the demand of public trasport would increase. So, we can be sure about that this would work. However, it would no be the best solution as the public vehicles are not apropiate because Peru does not have a competent infraestructure. The other solution which I consider more apropiate is not increasing the prices, but promoting and upgrading the public service. Thus, the use of it would be based on the own people's iniciative and, in the same way, not a increase of price. Concluding, Reducing the people's petrol consume by increasing the prices is not the best solution for pollution and traffic growing. Consecuently, it is better to upgrade the public vehicles and service because that would promote the demand of it, and, above all, this investment would try to reach a world without global warming and horrible traffic.