Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage from using their cars?

It should not come as a surprise that buying of vehicles has significantly grown over the last three decades. As a result, quite a few cities have become endless traffic congestion. I could not agree more with this considering that this problem has worsened noticeably. Presumably, the authorities might try to solve this issue by encouraging drivers to switch from their cars to alternative options. Unfortunately, statistics demonstrate that traffic congestion has been increasing for a long time. To illustrate, traffic jam in Moscow, Russia has gone up by 87% since 1990. Moreover, Moscow was the most congested city in the world in 2020 and the second in 2021. Therefore, individuals waste a lot of time stuck in traffic jams instead of spending time with their loved ones or working. Sadly, Moscow is not an exception and we can find a lot of megapolises such as LA, Istambul and so on with similar issues to tackle. Needless to say, crucial steps need to be taken by officials to reduce traffic congestion. Firstly, it might be an efficient way to provide citizens with an opportunity to use bicycles instead of cars. To illustrate, there is a cycling paradise in Copenhagen, Denmark with plenty of designated bike lanes and routes across the city. Secondly, the governments should still work on public transport. By the way, it should not be the cheapest option but comfortable. To illustrate, studies have shown that commuters in Europe prefered public transport to cars thanks to organised private roads for public vehicles and provided comfortable conditions inside the buses and trains. To conclude, it is obvious that perpetual traffic jam has been a huge issue for drivers for decades. That is why the authorities should act accordingly to overcome this problem by implementing various means such as a comfortable transportation system and bike lanes for cyclists.