Modern technology is changing our world. This has advantages such as bringing people closer together through communication. It also has disadvantages such as destroying the differences between cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

By advancements on technology our world has changed significantly. There are several viewpoints for and against this change whether it is beneficial or not. While some people believe new technology can be advantageous in term of bringing people closer and disadvantageous in term of vanishing different cultures, I do not agree with them. New technologies have brought us cutting-edge means of communication. However, it is highly controversial whether people can benefit from them or not. Since using new electronic devices such as mobile phones and lap tops are much easier to be used in order to communicate with our relatives or friends, we prefer to speak with them via phone calls or video calls. Therefore, instead of visiting other people and spending some quality times with them, we decide not to see them in person. This can undoubtedly lead us to be more isolated rather than being closer together. Some people claim that modern technology is vanishing differences between cultures. This may has some adverse effects on cultures. However, in my opinion, these effects are minor, In addition from a social standpoint, culture is not something that can easily be destroyed by phenomenon such as technology advancement. The people ’s beliefs play vital role in culture transformation, I do not believe technological advancements are able to alter people ’s thoughts. In conclusion, I do not agree with the statement. Nee technologies have facilitated our communications in cost of bringing gaps among individuals. I also believe that since there are other decisive factors, recent advances in technology is not able to destroy cultures.