Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local businesses will bring about the death of local communities. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, many countries are building large shopping centers to cater the needs of the people, this is considered as a move to prove the nations socio-economic imrpovements. However, others think that this development will lead to closure of small businesses and later on leave the community members suffering. I stronly agree that the bankruptcy of small, local entrepreneurs do have a negative great impact not only in people's financial status, but also, losing local tradition. Capitalization is a major game in our modern world. Those who have good financial resources can easily start up a business by funding constructions of buildings and employing a number of workers. Due to many varities of large shopping store, people tend to go there to buy their needs. However, local shop owners usually have limited budget to keep the bussiness going. A small gift shop for example, the owners can only sell limited items since the capital is small. If shoppers will continue to ignore the local shops, no income will come in and the shop will be forced to close adding the ownner to the long toll of jobless individuals. In addition, the local shops are usually selling novelty items related to the heritage of the the community. It is a good way to preseve the culture so younger generation can learn old skills. For instance, closure of a store, selling hand-made hats which uses local materials. The children will not be able to learn how to do weave to create those hats; instead, they will just buy ready made head wear. They will not be aware of what they place is known for. In conclusion, although buildings and huge commercial establishments are signs of improvements in a country, it also result to a loss of livelihood of a local shop owners and vanishing old tradition.